Nestled in the Appalachian mountains and home to a diverse blend of cultural history, West Virginia attracts adventurers and scientists alike for its unique topographical features. Realtors in this state could potentially do well. Those interested in the real estate profession in West Virginia may wonder how to get a real estate license. In the first place, the realty community in this state is overseen by the West Virginia Real Estate Commission (WVREC), which handles all applications and licensing for real estate applicants. This article seeks to inform those interested in a real estate license in the state of West Virginia on basic qualifications, including eligibility, education requirements and other relevant information.
The WVREC requires applicants to meet specific prerequisites in order to become licensed. Generally speaking, everyone who applies for a realty license in West Virginia must:
- Be at least 18
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent certificate
- Complete 90 clock of prelicensure education
- Pass the licensing exam
Training & Education
The 90 hour prelicensure coursework requirement must be met by 90 hours of “clock” hours at an approved school or by completing a 6 credit hour course at an accredited institution. The state designates the 90 hours as follows: appraisal (20), law (20), finance (20), and principles & practice (30). Candidates must pass each subsection with at least a C (75%) in order to take the licensing exam. The statute of limitations on the coursework is five years, meaning that applicants must have completed the prelicensure coursework prior to five years before submitting an application.
Once students complete the coursework and pass, they may sit for the licensing exam. According to the WVREC, applicants will be notified when and where to take the exam once they have submitted an application, and the fee is $25. Normally, the exam is given monthly by the commission itself instead of an outside testing service.
West Virginia requires continuing education, but the official commission website does not outline specific information regarding renewal requirements or how many hours are necessary. Instead, they offer a page of guidelines for the type of CE requirements that must be met. For more information regarding renewals, applicants should contact the WVREC directly.
West Virginia has reciprocal agreements with the following jurisdictions: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Iowa, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico and South Carolina. Realtors from these states may apply for a reciprocal license in West Virginia by contacting the WVREC for further instruction. Realtors from jurisdictions without a reciprocal agreement will need to apply for a West Virginia license using the normal application procedure; however, they may have portions of the requirements waived.
West Virginia recognizes several types of realty licensing. The focus of this article is on real estate salesperson licenses, which are the basic licenses available to those desiring to sell real estate in West Virginia. Broker licenses, for example, require more education and additional experience. Those interested in a broker’s license or other real estate profession should visit the state’s website to learn about other licensing requirements.
The WVREC manages licensing and maintenance of real estate licenses in the state of West Virginia. However, widespread organizations exist to monitor and regulate real estate practices around the world. Two important associations are the National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO). These entities work to maintain codes of ethics for the real estate community worldwide.
Spruce School of Real Estate West Virginia Real Estate School
- Become A Real Estate Agent In West Virginia
- West Virginia Real Estate Commission
- West Virginia Real Estate Commission Table of Contents
- Salesperson Application
- Licensing Agreements
- Examination Schedule
- Pre-License Education