A large state with endless possibilities, Utah entices people from around the country with its western charm. In fact, Utah is ranked in the top ten of growing state populations, which means that realtors in this state can cultivate a successful practice. Those interested in how to get a real estate license in Utah should start by exploring the information provided in this article. Each state has its own set of procedures for licensing. The Utah Real Estate Division (Utah DRE for this article) under the larger entity of the Utah Department of Commerce regulates all realty licensing in the state. This article addresses the entry-level realtor position in the state, which in this case is a salesperson. Information that follows will help answer basic questions regarding obtaining a real estate license in the state of Utah.
The Utah DRE requires that potential licensees in the state meet specific prerequisites for obtaining a realty license. All applicants for a real estate salesperson license in Utah must:
- Be at least 18
- Attest to their good character (see below)
- Hold a high school degree or equivalent
- Complete 120 hours of mandated prelicensure coursework
- Submit all required paperwork and pay the nonrefundable $152 fee
- Pass the Sales Agent exam
Utah defines good character as a person having “honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency.” In addition, Utah strictly regulates those with criminal backgrounds as follows: “According to Administrative Rule R162-2-2.9 and 2.10, an applicant does not qualify for a real estate license if he or she has any felony in the last five years (starting from the time of conviction/plea or completion of any jail/prison sentence) OR if the applicant has any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years.” Applicants for a license must submit to a fingerprint/background check at the time of application, for which there is a $40 fee (included in the total application fee of $152).
Training & Education
The UTAH DRE requires 120 hours of prelicensure coursework in order to grant a real estate license. These courses may be taken in person or online depending on the school, but all schools must be approved by the division. A breakdown of the course objectives may be found online.
Utah handles its licensing exam differently from other states. At the end of the 120 hours of prelicensure coursework, applicants will sit for a final 8-hour exam, and passing this will qualify them to apply for licensure.
A Utah real estate license is valid for two years. Realtors must complete 18 hours of continuing education each renewal period, and half of these hours must be related to core topics. The CE must be completed by the month of renewal, no later than the 15th of that month to ensure a timely renewal. New real estate agents must take a 12-hour New Agent Course to renew their licenses, which may count towards the 18 hour CE requirement.
Utah offer reciprocal licenses to realtors in Georgia, Mississippi and Alberta, Canada. Realtors from this state do not need to meet the educational requirements for a license, but they still must submit the proper paperwork in order to receive a Utah license. Realtors from states that do not have reciprocal agreements with Utah must submit additional paperwork, but they may be entitled to waive certain portions of the education and exam requirements. A specific guideline for both cases is available on the division’s website.
Utah recognizes other types of real estate professionals, such as brokers, but as stated in the introduction, this article is designed to educate those unfamiliar with real estate entirely. Those who want to learn more about advanced real estate licenses should check out the Utah DRE website for further qualifications.
While the Utah DRE regulates licensing on a state basis, other organizations regulate national and international codes of ethics across the globe. The National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) have developed laws and regulations to ensure that realtors and realty commissions around the world adhere to a standardized set of procedures.
- Become A Real Estate Agent In Utah
- Utah Division of Real Estate
- Licensed Sales Agent Registration
- Sales Agent & Broker Renewals