From Atlantic City style to farmland beauty, the Garden State offers residents a happy cultural blend of nature and cityscape. Realtors in New Jersey can take advantage of this cultural mingling and the fact that New Jersey is the most densely populated state to ensure an illustrious real estate career. Like all states, New Jersey’s real estate industry is overseen by a governing authority. Under the larger body of the New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance, the New Jersey Real Estate Commission (REC) outlines the requirements for obtaining a real estate license in this state. Those wondering how to get a real estate license in New Jersey should adhere to the following guideline for basic information regarding education requirements, licensing qualifications and other practical advice.
The New Jersey REC requires real estate applicants to adhere to certain prerequisites in order to obtain a New Jersey real estate license. In general, applicants for a real estate license in this state must:
- Be 18 years or older
- Hold a high school degree or equivalent
- Complete 75 hours of approved prelicensure coursework
- Pass a final licensing exam
- Submit an application
Applicants must also prove that they are of good character. In addition, candidates have one year from the date the complete the prelicensure coursework to submit an official application through a licensed broker. After one year, candidates must start over from the beginning, including retaking the education courses and exam.
Training & Education
Prior to taking the licensing exam, New Jersey real estate applicants must complete 75 hours of prelicensure coursework from an approved school, and 3 of these hours need to be on the subject of ethics. The New Jersey REC maintains a list of approved schools that provide the required prelicensure coursework.
PSI, Inc. handles the licensing exam for New Jersey applicants. Detailed information concerning specific testing registration and fees may be found by visiting their website.
The New Jersey REC requires 12 hours of continuing education per year prior to license renewal, which is biennial and costs $100. Continuing education courses may be taken online, but realtors should note that six of the 12 hours must be “core” courses as outlined by the commission. Realtors who hold more than one real estate license (from other states) may count their CE credits in New Jersey provided that the courses offer equivalent material.
Fees for a real estate license include the $100 new license fee and the $70.25 background check fee.
New Jersey currently does not offer reciprocal licenses with realtors from other states or jurisdictions.
The New Jersey REC provides licenses to all real estate professionals in the state, including brokers and other licensees. This article pertains specifically to real estate salesperson licenses. Other types of real estate professionals require additional experience and education. Individuals interested in a broker career or other license should check out the New Jersey REC website to find out specific application and licensing requirements for these occupations.
While the New Jersey Real Estate Commission oversees all aspects of the real estate profession in the state of New Jersey, other organizations work to maintain real estate on a global level. The National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) develop and regulate rules and procedures that span across state lines, ensuring that real estate agents and commissions around the world provide a standardized level of service and adhere to a set code of ethics.
- Become A Real Estate Agent In New Jersey
- Real Estate Frequently Asked Questions
- Requirements for Licensure as a NJ Real Estate Salesperson or Broker
- Licensing and Education
- Continuing Education Information and Applications