Nevada offers tourists and residents alike the unique opportunity to experience the wild west and glamorous Sin City all in one wide open package. Realtors in this state may do well considering the state’s growth potential. For those wondering how to make a career as a real estate agent in the state of Nevada, this guide should help them get started. Under the Nevada Department of Business and Industry, the Nevada Real Estate Department (RED) mandates the requirements for becoming a real estate professional in this state. Those curious about how to get a real estate license in Nevada should check the state’s website for detailed information, as Nevada’s laws are fairly complex. In general, the following information offers a basic guide for becoming a licensed realtor in Nevada.
Like other states, Nevada requires that real estate applicants meet certain prerequisites for becoming licensed in the state. Candidates for a real estate salesperson license in the state of Nevada must:
- Be a U.S. citizen or provide proof of work eligibility
- Complete 90 hours of prelicensure coursework
- Submit valid fingerprinting
- Pay an application fee of $40 and a new license fee of $170
Training & Education
The Nevada RED requires 90 hours of prelicensure coursework for a real estate license in Nevada. Nevada also requires that this education be completed at an approved school. Six semester hours at an accredited institution may be used for this educational requirement.
PSI, Inc. handles the testing requirements for Nevada real estate applicants, and detailed information regarding registration, applicable fees and scoring may be found on the testing website.
The Nevada Real Estate Division requires a complex renewal system for real estate licensees as follows:
- Original licenses remain valid for 2 years, after which they must be renewed with a subsequent license at the end of the month when a licensee first received a license.
- Following the original license, license renewals take place every 4 years.
- Within the first year of an initial license, realtors must complete 30 hours of post-licensing coursework.
- Within two years of an initial license, realtors must also complete 12 hours of continuing education. Continuing education and post-licensure coursework are not interchangeable and cannot be combined.
- The educational requirements for a first renewal must be met via live instruction, except in the case of rural realtors.
- Subsequent renewals require 24 hours of continuing education per 2 year period, for a total of 48 hours of continuing education. Half of this education requirement must be met via live instruction.
- Regardless of renewal period, the renewal fee is $280.
The Nevada RED has reciprocity agreements with the following states: Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Texas, Utah and West Virginia.
Nevada also recognizes other types of professional real estate licenses, such as property managers and brokers. For these and any other licenses, the state has separate education and experience requirements apart from the real estate salesperson qualifications as outlined in this article. While the information within this guide pertains to real estate salespersons, individuals interested in obtaining other real estate licenses should check out the state’s website for detailed information regarding application and licensing.
While the Nevada Real Estate Commission oversees the state specific requirements for licensees in Nevada, other organizations exist to monitor national and international real estate regulations. Two important associations are the National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO). Both organizations work to develop and maintain standardized regulations regarding realtor codes of ethics and conduct. For more information on the universal realty regulations and standards, those interested should check out the websites for each organization.
- Become A Real Estate Agent In Nevada
- Real Estate Licensing Requirements
- Real Estate License Renewal
- Fee Schedule
- Change in Fingerprinting
- Real Estate Licensing Requirements