A rural state located in the Great Plains, Nebraska offers exciting potential to would-be realtors in the area. Known for its agricultural bounty, Nebraska contains ample room to grow in today’s economy. Those interested in a real estate career in Nebraska might wonder how to get started. Like all other states, Nebraska has rules and regulations concerning the practice of real estate within its borders. Under the Nebraska Real Estate Commission, realtors must meet certain prerequisites and pass educational checkpoints in order to become a licensed realtor in the state. This article seeks to provide information on how to get a real estate license in Nebraska.
The Nebraska Real Estate Commission outlines specific qualifications that must be met in order for a person to become a licensed real estate salesperson in Nebraska. In general, all applicants must:
- Be 19 years or older
- Have completed high school or equivalent degree
- Complete two, 30-hour prelicensure courses
- Submit to a fingerprint/federal background check
- Obtain current Errors & Omissions insurance
- Pay the appropriate application and licensing fees
Training & Education
The Nebraska Real Estate Commission requires two prelicensure courses of at least 30 hours each from an approved school or distance-learning program.
While the licensing exam is done via electronic testing with instant results, testing is administered at onsite locations by AMP Assessment Centers. Applicants must call the testing service to register and pay for an exam prior to sitting for the exam. In order to receive a license, applicants must pass with a 75% score and must complete their applications within 30 days of receiving notification of a passing score.
As of 2012, realtors in Nebraska must renew their licenses every two years by November 30th. They must provide proof that they have completed the mandatory 18 hours of continuing education. Of these 18 hours, 12 must be subject matter specific, while the remaining 6 must adhere to commission standards and broker approval.
The fee for a new real estate license is $135 and the exam fee is $150. Applicants must also pay appropriate fees for the federal background check.
Nebraska handles reciprocity differently from most other states. Rather than “reciprocal agreements” in which licensed realtors from other states may apply for and obtain a license to practice real estate in Nebraska, Nebraska honors what they call a “License by Recognition.” This means that a realtor outside of Nebraska may have a Nebraska license issued for jurisdictional purposes rather than an official Nebraska license so that they can perform real estate services in Nebraska. Applicants from other states should study the laws carefully before engaging in such practices.
The Nebraska Real Estate Commission also licenses other real estate professionals, including brokers. However, this article specifically addresses those individuals interested in real estate salesperson licenses. In general, brokers and other real estate professionals require additional education and experience in order to be granted a license. Individuals who are interested in a broker career should check out the Nebraska commission website to learn about those specific requirements.
Under the guidance of the Nebraska Real Estate Commission, realtors must adhere to certain regulations regarding application, licensing and maintenance of their existing licenses. While the commission regulates statewide practices, national and international organizations manage realty practices on a global level. Among these, two prominent organizations are the National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO). These associations provide standardized codes of ethics and practices to ensure that real estate agents and commissions around the world offer universally acceptable real estate service.
- Become A Real Estate Agent In Nebraska
- Licensing & Forms
- General Salesperson/Broker License Requirements
- Real Estate Licensing Information
- Nebraska Real Estate Commission Fee Schedule