Full of wide open spaces and a mountainous landscape, Montana is home to a deep-rooted agricultural base. Despite its low population density, Montana offers realtors exciting potential as the state encompasses large areas of land waiting to be developed. Those pondering how to get a real estate license in Montana may wonder how to get started. Like some states, Montana regulates its real estate guidelines under the authority of a larger governing body. The Montana Department of Labor & Industry oversees the Montana Board of Realty Regulation, which in turn develops and maintains the rules and laws that govern real estate agents in this state. The following guide offers basic information regarding licensing and other requirements in order to obtain a real estate license in the state of Montana.
The Montana Board of Realty Regulation outlines prerequisites for real estate licensees. To obtain a real estate salesperson license in the state of Montana, applicants must:
- Be 18 years or older
- Provide proof of completion of the 10th grade or higher
- Complete 60 hours of prelicensure coursework
- Pay the $122.50 new license and recovery fee
Applicants may be subject to a personal interview by the Board if the Board determines that some aspect of the application needs further explanation, such as previous criminal convictions. In addition, applicants may apply in one of three ways: by application, waiver or pre-determination. Individuals who meet special circumstances should look into waivers and pre-determination applications to see if they qualify.
Training & Education
The Montana Board of Realty Regulation requires 60 hours of prelicensure coursework from an approved school.
Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) administers the licensing exam for Montana applicants. The testing service’s website offers detailed information regarding registration, fees and scoring. In general, applicants must pass the national portion at 80% and the Montana specific portion at 70%.
Once issued a license, realtors in Montana have until October 31st to complete a “Rookie Course” for new licensees. After that, they will be issued a permanent, renewable license. Licenses expire on October 31st each year, and realtors must complete 12 hours of continuing education to maintain their active licenses. Of these 12 hours, 4 must come from a core course as determined by the Montana Board of Realty Regulation. The renewal fee for a real estate salesperson license in Montana is $87.50.
Montana does not allow reciprocal licenses for any U.S. state; however, realtors in Alberta, Canada may apply for a reciprocal license in the state of Montana. Realtors from other U.S. states may have portions of their educational requirements waived, but this is at the discretion of the Board and may not be universal. Realtors from other states should check with the Board to see if their licensing requirements equal Montana’s guidelines.
This article contains information regarding real estate salesperson licenses specifically, as opposed to other licenses such as broker and property management licenses. The Montana Bard of Realty Regulation outlines specific requirements for all real estate professionals. Those interested in a broker or property management career should visit the state’s website to learn more about the necessary experience and education requirements.
The Montana Board of Realty Regulation handles professional real estate licensing within state boundaries. Global regulation is handled by two distinct organizations: the National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO). Prominent among regulatory boards, these two associations work to standardize realty codes of ethics and regulations across a broad network, ensuring that real estate agents and commissions around the world adhere to the same set of standards.