Obtaining a Real Estate License in Massachusetts

Massachusetts

One of the most densely populated states in the country, Massachusetts provides ample opportunity for individuals interested in a realty career. Those pondering becoming a realtor may how to get a real estate license in the state of Massachusetts. This state, like all states, governs its licensure process under strict regulations and codes of ethics. Under the larger governing authority of the Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulations, the Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons offers rules and regulations for potential realtors in this state. The following guide outlines some of the basic requirements and qualifications for obtaining a real estate license in the state of Massachusetts.

Basic Prerequisites

Potential realtors in Massachusetts must adhere to certain prerequisites in order to apply for a salesperson license. All applicants for a realty license in this state must:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Meet the “GMC” qualifications (see below)
  • Complete 24 hours of prelicensure coursework approved by the state
  • Pass a state and national licensing exam
  • Submit an application

Massachusetts governs its applicants very seriously in terms of “good moral character” or GMC. Applicants must provide proof of their GMC to the commission before they may be considered for a realtor license. While criminal convictions do not necessarily bar applicants from obtaining a realty license, the determination for licensure is at the board’s discretion. A detailed explanation of their GMC clause may be found by searching the laws and regulations page of the board website. In addition to these requirements, realtor applicants must provide a $5,000 surety bond once they have completed the licensing exam.

Training & Education

Massachusetts requires applicants to complete 24 hours of prelicensure coursework from an approved school. In lieu of these prelicensure classes, candidates may be allowed to submit qualified educational credits from accredited schools or waive some portions of the educational requirements based on admittance to the Massachusetts state bar. Applicants in these circumstances should contact the state board regarding specific waiver requirements.

The final licensing exam is administered by Pearson VUE. Applicants must pay and register for the exam apart from the application process. Detailed information concerning registration requirements, testing policies and scoring guidelines may be found by visiting the testing service’s website.

The Massachusetts board requires realtors to complete 12 hours of continuing education credits every two years in order to renew their licenses by their birthdays (the date their licenses expire). The fee for renewal of a salesperson license is $103.

Additional Information

Massachusetts honors reciprocal licenses in certain states, either partially or in full depending on the type of license. For a detailed breakdown of the specific reciprocal agreements and how the state honors them, individuals should study the reciprocity guide located on the state government website.

Other real estate professionals, such as brokers, receive their licenses through the Massachusetts realty board. However, this article specifically address real estate salesperson licenses and is intended for those individuals only. People interested in additional licensing should check out the Massachusetts state website for information on testing requirements, experience and eligibility.

The Massachusetts Board may outline specific guidelines on a state level, but other associations exist to monitor and maintain realty practices around the world. The National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) are two major organizations that work to standardize the practice of realty. These associations actively maintain regulations that ensure an acceptable standard across the globe for realtors and realty commissions.

Resources

Leave a Reply