Obtaining a Real Estate License in Maryland

A state bordering the nation’s capital and home to a bustling blend of Southern and New England lifestyles, Maryland offers many professionals excellent opportunities, especially in the real estate industry. Those interested in becoming a realtor in Maryland may wonder how to get a real estate license. Each state handles licensing differently, and Maryland is no exception. Under the Maryland Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, the Maryland Real Estate Commission (MREC) governs the application process and licensing requirements of potential realtors in the state. The following guide offers information for would-be real estate agents on how to get started and how to obtain a real estate license in Maryland.

Basic Prerequisites

The Maryland Real Estate Commission requires basic prerequisites prior to one’s becoming a licensed real estate salesperson in this state. In general, all applicants must:

  • Be 18 or older
  • Have a high school degree or equivalent
  • Be a person of “good character and reputation” as defined in their rules
  • Complete 60 hours of prelicensure coursework
  • Obtain endorsement by a broker with whom the applicant will be affiliated upon being granted a license
  • Pay a $110 new salesperson license fee
  • Submit an official application
  • Pass the final licensing exam

Training & Education

Maryland applicants must take and complete 60 hours of prelicensure coursework, of which 3 of these hours need to be a commission-approved course on ethics. The state website maintains a list of approved schools for this purpose.

The licensing exam for Maryland is administered by PSI, Inc. Applicants should pay the $66 fee at the exam at the time of registration, which is done electronically through PSI’s website. Applicants may find detailed information, including testing requirements and scoring procedures, through the website as well.

Maryland requires different levels of continuing education based on type of license and previous education history. For example, a residential real estate salesperson licensee who does not have a law degree needs 15 hours of continuing education credits with a designated breakdown of specific courses. The MREC website lists additional breakdowns based on the type and scope of a realtor’s license. 

Additional Information

Maryland has reciprocal agreements with Pennsylvania and Oklahoma. All realtors from these states must submit documentation of work history, a letter from a sponsoring broker and the appropriate application and fees to be considered for a Maryland license. Pennsylvania realtors do not have to meet the educational or exam requirements, and Oklahoma realtors may waive the educational requirements but must pass the Maryland portion of the licensing exam. Realtors from other states do not qualify for reciprocal licenses, but depending on circumstances may be able to waive certain prerequisite requirements. They should contact the Maryland Real Estate Commission for detailed information.

Maryland also provides licenses to other real estate professionals such as brokers, which require more experience and additional educational requirements. This article outlines the requirements for becoming a real estate salesperson in Maryland. Individuals interested in becoming brokers should visit the Maryland Real Estate Commission website to learn more about specific application and licensing requirements.

While the Maryland Real Estate Commission governs the rules and regulations for real estate professionals on a state basis, national and international organizations regulate widespread codes of conduct for real estate professionals. The National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) work to develop and maintain licensing requirements and codes of ethics across borderlines, ensuring that people receive quality services from real estate professionals no matter the state or jurisdiction.

Resources

Leave a Reply