Obtaining a Real Estate License in Kansas


People interested in becoming a realtor in the state of Kansas may wonder how to get started. This article guide addresses the basic requirements in terms of education and the application process in order to become a licenses real estate salesperson in this state. The Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC) outlines rules and regulations for obtaining and maintaining a professional real estate license. Understanding where to start is an important first step for potential realtors wondering how to get a real estate license in the state of Kansas. The following guide will answer some basic questions.

Basic Prerequisites

The KREC governs how realtors must obtain and renew their licenses. Each applicant for a real estate salesperson license in the state of Kansas must:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Hold a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete 60 hours of approved prelicensure coursework
  • Interview with local real estate companies and obtain sponsorship by a practicing broker
  • Pay a nonrefundable $15 fees
  • Submit to a state and federal background check
  • Submit an application once educational requirements met
  • Pass a final state and national licensing exam

Nonresidents should also submit proof of their licensing history in other states along with a Nonresident Form. Applicants who have criminal records or other convictions must disclose this information, and the KREC recommends including a character reference along with this disclosure. Candidates have six months to submit an official application once they pass the licensing exam. At this time, they should have a supervising broker attest to their character and good standing.

Training & Education

The KREC requires applicants to complete a 30 hour “Principles of Real Estate” course as well as a 30 hour “Kansas Practice” course for a total of 60 hours prelicensure coursework prior to applying for a state license. 

Pearson VUE administers the Kansas state licensing exam. Information regarding testing requirements and fees can be found on their website, as applicants will register and pay for the test separately.

A real estate salesperson license in Kansas must be renewed every two years. Kansas bases renewals on the letter of realtors’ last names, and there is a $100 fee for renewal. Realtors must also complete 12 hours of continuing education in order to renew. While the KREC keeps a list of approved schools on its website, applicants should also note that they may complete portions of their educational requirements online as well. 

Additional Information

Kansas canceled its reciprocity agreement in 2007, but realtors from other states have options for obtaining a real estate license in Kansas. They may be able to waive the national portion of the licensing exam and half of the educational requirements if they can prove that their licensing state held equivalent requirements. Realtors from other states should contact the KREC to find out more.

Real estate professionals also include brokers and property managers, and may also include similar professions for which licenses may be required. The information in this article addresses salespersons specifically. Salespersons must work under the direction of a broker and require less education and experience. Those interested in becoming brokers or other real estate professionals should check with the Kansas Real Estate Commission on additional licensing requirements.

The Kansas Real Estate Commission provides for the maintenance and guidelines for real estate agents and other real estate professionals across the state. National and international organizations develop rules and regulations on a broader level. Among the prominent associations are the National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO). These two associations work to standardize codes of ethics around the world to ensure that realtors adhere to set principles of conducting business.


Leave a Reply