Home to a wide variety of theme parks, beaches and other vacation spots, Florida offers residents and professionals a sunny break from the typical business setting. Like all other states, though, Florida requires real estate agents for everything from personal homes to vacation property. Those interested in a real estate career in Florida may wonder how to get a real estate license. Managed by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, the Florida Real Estate Commission oversees the qualifications for potential realtors in the state. The following offers some information on obtaining a real estate salesperson license in the state of Florida.
The Florida Commission requires applicants to meet certain prerequisites in order to obtain a real estate salesperson license. While specific information may apply in different cases, in general an applicant must:
- Be 18 or older
- Have obtained a high school degree or equivalent
- Disclose any previous felony or criminal convictions
- Submit fingerprints no older than 60 days at the time of application
- Finish 63 hours of prelicensure classroom coursework
- Pass the state licensing exam and complete post-licensing coursework
Training & Education
Florida requires real estate applicants to complete 63 hours of approved classroom prelicensure coursework as well as 45 hours of post-licensing coursework. Once the prelicensure coursework has been complete, applicants have two years from the date of completion to use this coursework toward obtaining a license. Once potential realtors have completed the coursework and passed the state exam, they must activate their licenses and proceed to take 45 hours of additional classroom education. Individuals with disabilities who are unable to take classes in a physical setting may apply for correspondence classes through the state.
The Florida Real Estate Commission uses Pearson VUE as its exam administrator, and applicants who take the exam must pass with a 75% score in order to receive a state license. The fee for this exam is $105.
Individuals who have passed the Florida State Bar exam may qualify for a waiver on the educational requirements of the application process and should research whether their status as a state licensed attorney qualifies them for this waiver.
Florida real estate licenses are renewed every two years by phone or online. While continuing education is required, realtors self-identify the number of hours they have completed. The state regulates this by random audits to ensure that realtors complete their necessary continuing education.
According to the FREC website, “Florida has mutual recognition agreements with 8 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Mississippi, Nebraska and Oklahoma.” Realtors in these states who wish to conduct business as a realtor in Florida should make sure that they have the appropriate paperwork on file before transacting any real estate agreements in the state.
Individuals interested in obtaining a broker or other real estate related license should research the specific requirements for those professions, as the information contained herein addresses salesperson licenses specifically. Real estate salesperson professionals differ in the type of work they do from brokers or property managers, and while licensing requirements may be similar, any guidance in this article is for salespersons only.
While Florida state regulates its own realty commission, there are national and international organizations that work to standardize real estate ethics and codes of conduct around the world. The National Association of Realtors and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) maintain rules and regulations across state lines to ensure consistent quality and performance.
- Become A Real Estate Agent In Florida
- Florida Real Estate Commission
- Florida Licensing Requirements for Real Estate