Individuals interested in a real estate career in the state of Delaware may wonder how to get started. The international Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) along with the National Association of Realtors maintain regulations concerning the practice of real estate and its code of ethics. While real estate guidelines, rules and regulations are monitored by these larger organizations, the Delaware Real Estate Commission under the direction of the State Department, Division of Professional Regulation maintains specific state requirements for real estate salesperson applicants. The following information offers prospective realtors the information they need on how to get a real estate license in Delaware.
In order to obtain the proper salesperson license in Delaware, certain prerequisites must be met. In general, a person must:
- Have a clean criminal record and/or disclose previous convictions
- Not have been officially reprimanded for conducting of real estate business
- Not be addicted to an impairment-causing stimulant, such as alcohol or other drugs, that would affect his or her ability to perform real estate work
- Complete 99 hours of prelicensure coursework by an approved institution
- Pass the state licensing exam
- Obtain written endorsement by a licensed broker
Applicants should also note that according to the Delaware Commission, persons applying for a real estate license will not be required to submit proof of residence or citizenship, which differs from many other state licensing office requirements.
Training & Education
Applicants for a Delaware real estate salesperson license must complete 99 hours of prelicensure coursework from accredited institutions or approved private schools. The minimum requirement of 99 hours is broken down into the following designations:
- Real Estate Orientation (3 hours)
- Real Estate Law (33 hours)
- Real Estate Mathematics (24 hours)
- Real Estate Sales (36 hours)
- Review for Sales, Law, Mathematics (3 hours)
Up to 60 hours of the prelicensure coursework may be completed online, provided that the online course is approved by the Delaware commission. Each program varies in both designation of hours and class schedules, but the commission’s minimum guidelines must be met before candidates may be considered eligible for a state license. The commission also outlines how many hours within the subcategories are to be devoted to relevant real estate topics, though individual schools may vary the sequence.
Pearson VUE administers the state licensing exam for Delaware applicants. Potential realtors in this state may wish to visit their website to learn more about specific scheduling and deadline information.
Delaware real estate salesperson licenses must be renewed every two years by April 30th in even-numbered years. Recent changes to the license renewal fees mean that candidates should pay close attention to when their licenses are officially issued. For example, realtors who received a license between May and October 2012 must complete 21 hours of continuing education, while those who were issued a license November 2012 to April 2013 must complete only 12 hours.
Standard licensing fees are outlined by the state commission:
- Initial license: $285
- Guaranty fund: $25
Other fees may apply on a case-by-case basis, and applicants should take note of the state fee schedule for certain situations.
Detailed paperwork is required for those applicants who already hold a real estate license in another state or jurisdiction. Those applicants must also submit a list of 20 completed transactions that occurred within the three years leading up to their application for a Delaware real estate salesperson license. They must also pay the appropriate fees and register with the commission their intent to practice real estate in Delaware.
This guide addresses the Delaware real estate salesperson license, as opposed to a broker or associate broker license. Guidelines for these positions are listed under a separate section on the Delaware Real Estate Commission’s website and should be consulted prior to applying for licensure.
- Become A Real Estate Agent In Delaware
- TITLE 24 – Professions and Occupations
- 2900 Real Estate Commission
- 2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee
- Fee Schedule