Real estate guidelines vary from state to state. Those wondering how to get a real estate license in the state of Connecticut should start by visiting the state government website. Regulated by the Department of Consumer Protection, the Connecticut Real Estate Commission has established certain guidelines for individuals wishing to obtain a real estate salesperson license in the state of Connecticut. The Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) and the National Association of Realtors provide standardized rules and regulations across all real estate commissions, both nationally and internationally. Connecticut adheres to their standards of ethic and codes of conduct, but it also maintains its own specific requirements for obtaining a real estate salesperson license in the state. Those interested in obtaining a real estate license in Connecticut should start with the following information.
Applicants for a real estate salesperson license in the state of Connecticut must:
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Be an honest and trustworthy person
- Not have had a previous license revoked or an application rejected
- Complete 60 hours of prelicensing coursework
- Pay an application fee
- Pass the state licensing exam
Training & Education
The Connecticut Real Estate Commission requires that potential realtors complete 60 hours of prerequisite coursework before completing the required state exam and being issued a license. These 60 classroom hours must be completed under the authority of an approved and accredited institution by the commission. The commission website hosts a list of active real estate schools that qualify for this educational requirement.
The Psychological Services Inc. (PSI) proctors the required state licensing exam, and candidates should register online for the test. In order to obtain a license, applicants must have a 70% passing score.
Connecticut requires realtors to renew their licenses on May 31st of each year; however, continuing learning is completed biennially. Beginning in 2014, real estate salespersons should complete 12 hours of continuing education credits every two years, to be comprised of the following: 3 hours of “CT Real Estate Law: Updated and Revised” and 9 hours of relevant real estate electives. Realtors have the option to take a 40-question exam proctored by PSI to satisfy the continuing education requirement.
Fees for completing the necessary prerequisite coursework vary depending on institution. Candidates who desire this information should seek out financial guides from respective colleges and programs. Standard application and licensing fees are as follows:
- Application: $80
- Initial license: $285
- Guaranty fund: $20
Candidates should also note that the renewal fees vary based on yearly schedule, with odd and even years requiring different renewal fees.
Connecticut participates to a certain extent in a reciprocal program, meaning that realtors in other states may apply and obtain a license to practice real estate in Connecticut. Currently, Connecticut lists 13 states for this program. Realtors in these states should fill out the appropriate paperwork and pay the required fees to obtain a Connecticut state license.
The information in this article addresses real estate salesperson licenses specifically. other provisions apply for those interested in a career as a Connecticut real estate broker. For detailed information regarding the regulations of realtors in Connecticut, prospective applicants should check out the online publications made available by the commission.
- Become A Real Estate Agent In Connecticut
- Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
- Real Estate Salesperson
- Real Estate Salesperson – Initial
- Brokers and Salespersons — Search Schools and Courses
- Education and Exam Information