People considering becoming a real estate agent in the state of Arkansas may wonder how to get a real estate license. After all, each state varies on its requirements. While the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) and the National Association of Realtors maintains current rules and regulations nationally and internationally, each state designates specific requirements for realtors. Arkansas is no different. Those wishing to pursue a real estate license in the state of Arkansas must adhere to the guidelines established by the Arkansas Real Estate Commission (AREC). These guidelines provide for certain pre- and post-licensing requirements, including fees, testing and approved coursework. The following guide offers information for those who want to obtain a real estate license in the state of Arkansas.
AREC outlines the following basic prerequisites for obtaining a real estate salesperson license in the state of Arkansas:
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Complete 60 hours of classroom real estate instruction; 30 hours of this instruction must include the basic tenets of real estate
- Pass the licensing exam
- Submit all necessary paperwork and fees to the AREC within 90 days of passing the exam
- Complete the necessary post-licensing education
The AREC also requires applicants to submit to a pre-license background check on a state and federal level. Applicants must submit a fingerprint card along with associated fees to the commission prior to completing the 60 hours of coursework. Realtor candidates may submit the background check application before completing the coursework, but they will not be able to sit for the state licensing exam before a background check application has been received by the commission.
Training & Education
As established in the prerequisites, real estate applicants in the state of Arkansas must complete 60 hours of classroom instruction, including 30 hours of basic real estate principles. The classroom hours must be obtained by a licensed post-secondary school, school or organization offering these classes. The state commission website lists approved schools for this purpose. A full list of accredited institutions can be found on the website for the Arkansas State Board of Private Career Education. Once the coursework has been completed, applicants must take and pass the state licensing exam, which is administered in different locations on select days of the week according to a state schedule.
In addition to the pre-licensing coursework, Arkansas requires realtors to complete 18 hours of post-licensing coursework within one year of the date of initial licensing. Realtors must renew their licenses annually and complete 6 hours of continuing education credits prior to renewal.
For those interested in distance learning as opposed to the accredited in-state institutions, the courses must be approved by ARELLO.
The AREC outlines fees for the licensing exam as well as fingerprinting. Additional fees may apply, and the cost for the pre-licensing coursework varies depending on school.
- Exam fee: $75
- Fingerprinting fee (total): $88.50
While many of the requirements for becoming a broker as opposed to a real estate salesperson are the same, some of the education and post-licensing requirements differ. Those interested in becoming a broker should check the state guidelines for that information.
Arkansas participates to a certain degree in the reciprocal licensing movement among real estate organizations. A complete list of their reciprocal states may be found on their website. Realtors in states that are not listed but who wish to obtain a license in Arkansas may have the education requirements waived and should contact the commission for further instruction.