Those interested in a career in real estate in the state of Alaska may be wondering how to get a real estate license. One of the unique things about becoming a realtor is that comparatively, the training and educational requirements are shorter than those of other disciplines. A person can become a realtor in Alaska quickly and without paying exorbitant fees associated with other professionals. The following guideline offers some advice about obtaining a real estate license in the state of Alaska.
The State of Alabama Real Estate Commission, under the direction of the Alaska Department of Commerce, outlines the following basic prerequisites for obtaining a real estate license:
- Be 19 years of age or older
- Work under a licensed broker
- Pass appropriate education and testing requirements
- Pay the applicable fees
- Be innocent of a felony conviction that would affect the person’s ability to work as a licensed realtor
- Apply for a license within six months of completing 40 hour pre-licensure coursework
Applicants who have been convicted of a felony that the Alaska Commission feels jeopardizes his or her ability to effectively sell real estate will be denied a license. If a person has been convicted of a felony or related crime, he or she must wait seven years after the punishment for said crime has been completed before filing for a real estate license in Alaska.
Training & Education
The Alaska Real Estate Commission requires 40 hours of classroom pre-licensure coursework in order to obtain a salesperson license. In addition, applicants must also complete 30 post-license hours. Finally, in order to renew existing real estate licenses, realtors must complete 20 hours of continuing education every two years in even-numbered years. Alaska’s commission outlines in detail how these classroom hours should be allotted for different topics. While 70 hours may seem like a lot of pre- and post-license classroom time, in reality, this differs drastically from most two- and four-year degree programs. Some university programs can require 130 hours of educational requirements. Real estate agents learn what they need to know in brief, state-approved educational programs and continue to learn throughout their careers.
The Alaska State Real Estate Commission maintains a set of standards for real estate licensing schools to ensure that those entering this profession receive a standardized set of instructions. While classes may be taken online, via distance learning or at traditional physical locations, the courses must be approved by the state in order to count towards licensing.
Fees for becoming a realtor in Alaska vary, but some of the testing and exam fees remain consistent throughout the state.
- New license fee: $550, which includes a $50 nonrefundable application fee, a recovery fund fee of $125 and a license fee of $375
- State exam fee for salesperson: $100
Veterans are entitled to receive reimbursement for the exam testing fee, pursuant to GI legislation. Those who have this GI benefit should contact the Alaska commission to arrange for reimbursement of the testing fee.
The state exam is administered by the Alaska Real Estate Commission under guidelines by the ARELLO (Association of Real Estate License Law Officials). This association provides the rules and regulations for national and international real estate standards. Those who need further information regarding how to get a real estate license should browse this useful resource.
The aforementioned information applies specifically to salespersons, which are people who sell real estate under a licensed broker either as an employee or licensed contractor of the broker. Different regulations apply for becoming a broker and can be found on the Alaska Commission’s official website. All licenses must follow general requirements as outlined by the commission.
- The National Association of Realtors
- Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
- Alaska Real Estate Commission New License Information